Skip navigation

I was an old cat, at the age of 17. I was a millennium cat born in  2000. I crossed the rainbow bridge July 1, 2017 at the vet’s office in Kennett Square, PA. I was loved very much by my mom, dad and human brother. My grand beans cried for me too.

It happened quickly…the end. But the tumor on my face started growing in February. Mom said as long as I was eating and doing the things I always did, to leave me alone. I got closer to dad after his knee surgery at the end of May. It was easier to lay on his lap on the sofie, but I visited mom on her chair too. I was always glad to see her when she came back from somewhere.

My human bro moved around the time I got the tumor way down to Virginia for a new job. He was home visiting when the seizure hit me hard.

I finally saw the vet on June 30th and they made us wait a while. I laid on the floor near the exit. I only weighed 7.4 pounds and had one time weighed close to 15. My fur was lackluster and not pretty and more. My handsome face was all distorted on one side, my right eye almost closed and my third eyelid red. The vet gave me a shot of antibiotics and sent me home. That night I was restless and gobbled up two pouches of food. Then I calmed down in my bed. I was getting put down the basement as I pooed on the good rug in the living room-twice.

I was down that basement a long time that night. I looked out the window there for a while, but slept a lot. I got let up in the morning, ate and bugged them all for food again. I couldn’t let go of being hungry all the time. Something was not right. My head hurt. Mom let me eat some chicken salad off her finger a few times and suddenly I went crashing down on my side. I had to run, but I couldn’t. When I got up, I walked in circles. Dad picked me up and I was very weak. I had blood droplets coming out of my mouth a little.

They jammed me in the carrier again and there I was headed to the vet again. I cried the entire way. They let me out, and I laid right next to the exit door again. They were talking and crying, I knew the time was coming. Ma signed a paper and patted my head. Then the vet came in and took me away…..

50 Comments

  1. Cosmo, we know you are well and young and playful again at the bridge! We are sorry you had to go, but are glad you are no longer in pain. We are sending hugs and purrs for your family.

  2. We hope you will find happiness beyond the rainbow … after a full and much loved life here on earth. We’ve made a special rainbow bridge picture for you (as we do for many kitties and woofies). Your human can email us and we’ll send it to her if she would like. Forever, Cosmo. Your friends from Zoolatry … Dougie Dog and Zoey

  3. Cosmo; we did not have the honor of knowing you yet wanted to say how truly sorry we are;
    and we send hugs to your family. Godspeed your journey to heaven ♥♥♥

    dai$y, tuna, and dude, sauce and boomer

  4. It is always so hard when they have to leave. it doesn’t matter how much you think you are ready for it, how old they are, how ‘right’ it is.. it is heartbreaking. With leaky eyes I send oodles of rumbly purrs of healing and comfort.

  5. We’re sorry you had to go. We send our condolences and soft purrs.

  6. We really understand and are so sorry to see you go. Crying with you and purring for you. – Alana.

  7. Cosmo, we are so sorry we never got to know you in this life. But you had your family to keep you busy and happy, and that’s wonderful. Now you’re flying free at the Rainbow Bridge, until you and your family meet again.

  8. We are so very sorry

  9. So sorry for your loss!
    ~Vicat & teh boys

  10. We are so sorry that you had to leave this world, Cosmo. We send comforting purrs to your family because we know they are missing you very much.

  11. We’re so sorry you had to go Cosmo. We’re sending hugs and purrs to your family.

  12. At least you got to help dad come back from knee surgery. But it’s still sad.

  13. Oh, Cosmo, I’m sorry you suffered. It’s good that now you can run pain-free. I know your people miss you terribly, but I know you will be waiting for them when their time comes. Rest well, sweet boy. Say hi to my boy Bo and doggy girl Jessie.

  14. Cosmo, you were loved by so many, so much! You will be missed, but we are glad that you are well and whole again. Godspeed.

  15. Cosmo, so sad you had to leave us, but your memories will warm many hearts. RIP from Anastasia, Chopin, Bridgie and our own Angel Tinker. xoxoxo

  16. We are so very sorry. Cosmo was a great kitty and will always be with you

  17. Oh sweet kitty, how your People will miss you. We didn’t know you, but a 17-year-old kitty has surely had a good life with people who loved him and took such good care of him, and in turn were loved just as much. Godspeed, Cosmo, and much love to your people.

  18. Fly free, sweet Cosmo. I am purring for your hoomans.

  19. So sorry you had to go, kitty, but it only got worse after that and you don’t want your folks to remember you all bent out of shape. So glad they rescued you when they did so you could all have all those years together.

  20. We are sorry to hear of your passing, Cosmo. We know you are healthy over the Bridge but also know your family is grieving. May your peace provide them with comfort. Love, Toby & The Wrecking Crew.

  21. I’m so, so sorry for your loss of precious Cosmo. 17 is a beautifully long life, yet we never have them with us for long enough.

  22. We are so sorry sweet Cosmo had to leave. We send warm hugs, purrs and prayers.

  23. So very sorry for your loss. Fly high, Cosmo!

  24. Don’t worry – Beau Beau and Angie will be there for him over the bridge and lots more kitties too. Big hugs to your family coz we know how much it hurts when we leave them. You were with them a very long time so they will miss you soooo very very much. RIP Cosmo. May your light shine as brightly over the bridge as it did here!

  25. We’re so very sorry for your loss. Sending you love and comfort. Fly with the angels, Cosmo. ♥︎

  26. We hope you weren’t alone when you left and your family was with you. We’re sorry your time came, as we know you are missed. Hugs for your mom.

  27. We are so sorry that you had to make your journey OTB. Know that you were loved by your Mom and Dad and all of your friends. (((hugs)))

    The Florida Furkids and Mom Sharon

  28. So very sorry for the huge loss of your precious Cosmo=Love never dies…Wishing you all comfort and peace at this time of sorrow…Sending big hugs, loud purrs…J, Calle, Halle, Sukki, Mommy Cat

  29. I read this and wept. Cosmo I know you love your family and they will miss you more than amything. Uou don’t say if they were with you when you passed – I hope to the gods you were not alone.

  30. Please accept my condolences over Cosmo’s passing. It’s never fair when a life ends, no matter how good that life may have been. Godspeed, Cosmo. You are well again now.

  31. I’m so sorry it ended that way, Cosmo. But never doubt for even a second that your humans loved you to the moon and back. To your humans, my deepest compassion and condolences; and to you, if you see my beloved Siouxsie on the other side of the Bridge, tell her I love her.

  32. Run free, Cosmo. You were, just like us, one of the lucky ones. Loved and treasured by a wonderful family. Our time here is so short and it makes our humans so sad. But your spirit will love on in their hearts.

  33. Sending you peeps lots of luffs and hugs
    Loves and licky kisses
    Princess Leah xxx

  34. Oh Cosmo, we are so very sorry. We are sending purrs of comfort and paws of sympathy to your family as we know they miss you very much. We thinks Millennium cats are very special, and leave giant holes in their families hearts when they have to go to the Rainbow Bridge.

  35. I am so sorry for the loss of your beautiful boy.

  36. Cosmos is now young and healthy once more and waiting for you a the rainbow Bridge. He lives on in your heart.

  37. I’m so very sorry to hear of the passing of this majestic kitty. Somehow the time we have is never long enough. We hear 17 years and think it’s such a long life, but to those that loved him, twice that wouldn’t have been long enough. I hope that in time your memories bring your heart comfort and soothe your soul. Until then, know that you are surrounded by friends who understand and send you love and compassion.

  38. So deeply sorry about the loss of you beautiful Cosmo. Soft Pawkisses to comfort you all. Fly Free beautiful Soul ❤ ❤ ❤

  39. Oh Cosmo, fly free, no more pain and your body is strong and healthy ! You will be sorely missed and always remembered !

    • Memories of Eric and Flynn
    • Posted July 6, 2017 at 5:06 pm
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    I am so sorry for your loss. Cosmo will have been greeted by so many friends at the Bridge where he is now happy and pain free again.

  40. We read about this on the CB. We are so sorry to hear about Cosmo- Ichiro and Gemini

  41. We are so sorry you had to go, Cosmo. We are sending comforting thoughts and love to your family. We know they will love and miss you forever. ❤️

  42. we know it is hard to say good bye, sending you our pug prayers
    hugs
    Hazel & Mabel

  43. So very sorry that you ran off to the Bridge. Lots of soft purrs and hugs to all of you!

    Purrrrrrrrrrrrrs, Spike William

  44. Godspeed, Cosmo. We hope your family finds comfort in their memories of you. Your love will live forever in their hearts.

  45. Our thoughts and purrs go to your family, Cosmo.

  46. Dearest Cosmo, my sweet senior boy, Lazarito, also went away this July 3. I hope both of you are well now and running around together. I’m sorry your little head hurt but I’m sure you are all well now. To your family that loved you so much, I send comforting hugs. Signed: Angel Smokey8 and his Mom.

  47. I am sorry I am late. Nellie just told me she had seen you over the bridge and you were once again in the prime of your life! She told me to let your people know you love them and miss them.
    I am sending you purrayers and strength.
    Love Barb

  48. Cosmo, we are weeping here at my house. I am so sorry.

  49. Cosmo, may you fly free. We are terribly sad for your family who will miss you so very much. Sending purrs and hugs.


Leave a Reply

